Monday, 19 October 2009

F- - - - The Police - The PC Version

Adam Buxton (of The Adam & Joe Show) provides a new take on the classic NWA song.

Sunday, 18 October 2009


These podcasts are well worth spending some time listening to. Your host is "TG-The Analog Master of Disaster" who you may have met over on which is where I know him from.
Have a look at the archives for shows with Mr Magic, Melle Mel, Jazzy Jay, MC Chill and others.
The first one I went for was a special on Beat Street and Breakin' with special guest co-host, Fast Break (who appeared in Beat Street).  

Check the archives here.

Also TG has made a video for Bon Rock's "B-Boy" song from 26 years ago. A strange choice, but Mr Rock seems happy enough to appear. The little b-boy - Little Vicious - is pretty fantastic as well.

Saturday, 10 October 2009

Streetsounds Electro Volume 16 & 17

Remember #17 with the gatefold cover? Did you get you or your 'posse' name on there? Quite a memorable sleeve I think which further propelled the music out of the technical, space-age that it had so far been living in and into the harder, urban streets.

The album begins with LA's Wreckin' Cru and they've moved on from their electro roots of Juice or Surgery and have embraced sampling technology with Cabbage Patch. And the always futuristic productions of Mantronik are on show here with Cold Gettin' Dumb II.

The Classical Two recruit the help of Teddy Riley in a song which more than demonstrates the origins of the New Jack Swing sound he would later be crowned the king of.

ELECTRO 16 (1987)


A1 World Class Wreckin' Cru - Cabbage Patch
A2 Classical Two - New Generation
A3 King Tee w/ Keith Cooley - Payback's A Mutha
A4 Just-Ice - Cold Gettin' Dumb II (Remix)

B1 Ultramagnetic MC's - Travelling At The Speed Of Thought
B2 MC Shy D - Rap Will Never Die (Part II)
B3 2 Live Crew - 2 Live Is What We Are
B4 Marley Marl - He Cuts So Fresh
B5 Faze One - Pleasure Seekers

"Step back off my track, my mellow"

ELECTRO 17 (1987)


A1 Kid 'N' Play - Last Night
A2 M.C. Chill - Nightmare On Chill Street
A3 Rooftop - Caught Out There
A4 Masters Of Ceremony - Cracked Out
A5 Newcleus - Huxtable House Party
A6 Tray-Bag M.C. - At A Jam
A7 2 Live Crew - What I Like

B1 MC Mitchski "The Rappin Comedian" & M.B. "The Human Radio"- Brooklyn Blew Up The Bridge
B2 7A3 - 7A3 Will Rock You
B3 King Tee And Mixmaster Spade - Ya Better Bring A Gun
B4 C.I.A. - My Posse
B5 Spoonie Gee - The Godfather
B6 Doc Ti - Block Party
B7 B.O.S.E. - Bass Overdrive

"Your hair's so bald, I can read your mind!"
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Disclaimer - Important!

The links to MP3 files provided in these posts are to be used for previewing only. AGEING B-BOYS UNITE ™ does not keep the files here, this Blog is merely a gateway, an Information Desk if you will, to point you in the right direction. Once downloaded, all files should be destroyed within 7 days.