Saturday, 26 November 2016

November Podcast DOWNLOAD (#64)

November's Podcast is now in the bag. If you didn't reach on Thursday night then you can check it out at your leisure - obviously it would be better if you got off your lazy arse and tuned in when it went out live, but I don't mind. Not at all.
Just be aware that I know where you live. I know your secrets. I know you still have Freddie - your childhood bear - in close proximity. Just tune in on the last Thursday of the month and we shall say no more.

Toodle-pip, gang!

Lovemaster Repo B

If you want to know what's coming up in the show instead of waiting for the surprise then here it is. Go nuts, dude.

01  The James Gang - Ashes, The Rain And I
02  Lex Horton - The Theme from Vice City
03  Freshco & Miz - We Dont Play
04  Jorun Bombay - Hip Hop Family Tree Pt 1
05  Divine Styler - Ain't Sayin Nothin
06  The Fabreeze Brothers - All Out War
07  Remark - The Remarkable 1 - Soul
08  Grandmaster Melle Mel And The Furious Five - Beat Street Breakdown
09  Sir Ibu Of Divine Force - I'm The Peacemaker
10  Vic's Club Singer Quiz!
11  A Tribe Called Quest - We The People (We Got It from Here... Thank You 4 Your Service)
12  Eric B And Rakim - My Melody
13  Ice T - Ya Don't Quit
14  ODB - Shimmy Shimmy Ya
15  Jan Hammer - Crockett's Theme (Extended 12'' Mix)

Dope Doubleness
16  Gang Starr -Take It Personal
17  Gang Starr -Jazz Thing (Video Mix)

18   Mister Jason Presents Frankensteez - Mister Jason Has A Posse (DJ Format´s A-Z Of Classic Breaks Remix)

The Funk Trunk
19  DJ Mark N  - Live 7" Throwdown Vol.1 (Breakbeats)

20  Rammellzee - Paint To Pave The Road (Sam Sever Remix)

Roots Of The Roots
21  Colonel Abrams - Trapped (

22  Public Enemy - Shut Em Down (LP Version & Pe-te Rock Mixx)
23  Flipout - Flippin' Bob Part 1
24  Diamond D - Check One, Two

Also check out:

Friday, 25 November 2016

5 Rock Veterans Who Can't Handle Hip-Hop

Gene Simmons: "I am looking forward to the death of rap"

I think we're all aware that not everybody likes us - but we don't care.
Ageing old rockers declaring that they think 'rap is crap' has been going on since the days of the Sugarhill Gang and isn't anything new at all.
However, bucking the trend are 5 rock stars who DO like hip-hop as well.

So read on and let's cheer those with sense and hiss & boo those without.

Click here

Wednesday, 23 November 2016

ABU Podcast #64 November 2016

This Thursday (24th November) is of course, the ABU Podcast.
At 9pm be sure to be at

And there is a brand-new, spanky chatroom over at Disco Scratch Chat
which, if you haven't used before, will require you to login. It takes seconds. Do it.

This is probably our bestest show we've ever done. Ever. Honest.
At least until next month.

Love and stuff,

Mister Reeeeepo

Monday, 7 November 2016

Record Review - Remark - Soul b/w Being Human

"Can't Deny It, 'Cos There's More Than Meets The Eye"

There is a sense of heavy urgency with a huge, busy beat helping the song to convey it's message in this full-on sonic assault.
The a-side, 'Soul' is a return to form from Sublime Wizardry MC, Remark aka The Remarkable One as this 7" offering (a self-released, totally independent exercise) shows.
The layered samples are reminiscent of Public Enemy production circa 1990 (the "I know you got soul' vocal sample is a subtle nod) and work well in this isolated aural paranoia where the one lone voice is screaming out a message of sanity.
At points there is so much going on in the mix that Remark's voice is almost enveloped by the production which is a shame as 7" Soul is one of the more salient pieces of wax in this increasing world of fluffy, throwaway rap.

'Being Human' on the flipside begins with more great cuts from DJ Tones as he rips up the legendary pop-ska group, Madness. This is a much smoother track but not easy like a Sunday morning kind of smooth. Still keeping that wicked flow over an almost dub-heavy rhythm with crashing, full-flavoured reverby, as-fat-as-ya-like snares.

As much as I love both tracks I really do like the production on Being Human more and I'm not sure why. It's very subtle but maybe it's just the little touches like the reversed keys at the intro or the extra crunching drums that come in just at the right time.

Remark always has that experimental steez with non-compromising lyrics destined to make you think while you nod your head and clap your hands to what he's doing - always on tempo, Jack.
In the background providing the extra sheen is DJ Tones polishing that wax like Mr Miyagi. Super-quick and clean cuts just elevate Remark's vocals and give the songs that further stroke of professionalism.

As well as producing this fat slab of wax The Remarkable 1 has also overseen a music video for each cut. Taking that Roy Castle approach and bringing the dedication because that's what we need.

This release is available now on limited edition 7" vinyl and digital download. Go HERE to get your copy but hurry if you want the physical.

Ever forward, ever upwards.
Listen, I don't care who you are. Go out and buy. This. Record.
Food for ya cranium lets you see the essential, chomp it all down and release your potential. Don't be another flunky bowing down, deferential, this is what you need to become influential.

Support UK rap.

Being Human


ABU October Podcast - Mouth Breathers Mixtape

Well folks, here is the latest and oh, so greatest, ABU Podcast.
However I must quickly say that ABU is only one-third of this fantastic 2-hour special.
Together with Digging 4 Victory and Disco Scratch this podcast is an homage to Stranger Things with stacks of hip-hop, synth-based soundscapes and all manner of audio delights. All mixed up and served to you in a solid style you just won't hear anywhere else.
Even if you haven't seen this drama series from Netflix you will still enjoy this three-pronged mix.

Please listen and share. It's been getting hot reactions all over the place!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Disclaimer - Important!

The links to MP3 files provided in these posts are to be used for previewing only. AGEING B-BOYS UNITE ™ does not keep the files here, this Blog is merely a gateway, an Information Desk if you will, to point you in the right direction. Once downloaded, all files should be destroyed within 7 days.